A different view of Dubai

Această prezentare necesită JavaScript.

Fabulous Entrance Zaabeel Saray Dubai

I never had a burning wish to visit Dubai, but in search of  sun and turquoise sea in April  reachables in less than 8 hours, Dubai popped up as an OK destination.

So, if you really have to go to Dubai, I mean if you have to go there for business, here are my impressions:

Places:

Visit the house of Sheikh Saeed, (the grandfather of the current Sheikh) in the evening when the air gets cooler, then have dinner alfresco by the Creek, in the Shindagha area. There we had the best food in Dubai and the best Turkish coffee, flavoured with cardamom.

In a different evening go for a coffee and a nargile at the Sultans’s Lounge inside the Zaabeel Saray on The Palm. The Lounge is a dedicated area in the lobby, but if you, like me, hate air conditioning, better sit on the terrace and enjoy their confortable sofas.

Take time to make a tour of the lobby and raise your head to see the lamps. I took some photos, but they dont do a favour to the real objects.

I also liked the lounge corner of the Spa, beside the interesting corner lamp they have a velvet sofa with a mother-of-pearl inlay teak table.

See Burj Khalifa, the tallest tower in the world. I found it  spectacular during the day and very misterious and sleek at night. If you have time, after the fountain show (I enjoyed the elegant Arabic music) go to dinner at Souk Al Bahar, the mini-mall across Dubai Mall, the MegaMALL.

You can view the place like I did:  Dubai Mall is the future and Souk Al Bahar is the tradition. Between them is the fountain, water and light.

My people in Dubai:

The shopkeeper inside the house-museum of the Sheikh Saeed who asked me if I am Muslim because i was wearing a silver pendant with a filigraned prayer.

Suni, the Thai masseuse from the Dubai Beach Resort & Spa.

Mazen, the Syrian sales assistant passionate about fashion who admired my Romanian designed shalwars.

DJ, aka Diane & John from Philadelphia, celebrating their 42nd wedding anniversary, heading to India and Nepal next. We met them while queing at the Burj Khalifa tower.

Peter Kollar, the captain of the hot air ballon, a Hungarian-German-global citizen with attitude.

Below is a picture of 3 lights: the Moon, the streetlamp  and the lighted Burj Khalifa tower.

20120429-193949.jpg

The tower, the street lamp and the moon

20120429-231232.jpg

my gold lined silver Muslim jewel

  1. I do not even know how I ended up here, but I thought this
    post was great. I don’t know who you are but certainly you’re
    going to a famous blogger if you aren’t already 😉 Cheers!

  2. What’s up, just wanteԁ to tell you, I liked this post.
    It was helρful. Keep οn posting!

  3. Simply want to say your article is as surprising.

    The clarity in your post is just cool and i can assume you’re an expert on this subject. Well with your permission let me to grab your feed to keep updated with forthcoming post. Thanks a million and please keep up the rewarding work.

  4. Hello! This is kind of off topic but I need
    some help from an established blog. Is it hard to set up your own blog?
    I’m not very techincal but I can figure things out pretty fast. I’m thinking about creating my own but I’m not sure where to start. Do you have any points or suggestions? Many thanks

    • hi, thank you for visiting my blog. Its not difficult to start your own blog, You just need to decide what to wrote about. Even that you can change if you get a new idea or you get bored of your own blog.
      Thank you for calling mine an ”established blog”, I still consider it a project. I am not very technical either, but if you dont have a more technical friend, take a look at http://www.wordpress.com. This is the platform i am using for this blog. They will guide you to start your blog. they will also help you to choose a design for your blog. You just need to choose a name :). Enjoy !

  5. Diana, thanks. Your blog is cool and I love the format and the way the pictures change and I worked out how to follow you. Why do you blog in English not Romanian? I could not express myself in a foreign language however good I was at it – though Joseph Conrad learnt English at 30 and I adore him.

    I am back. Diana please read my account of Ethiopia which was quite the opposite of Dubai in most ways and therefore fascinating.

    Here is what I did in Ethiopia.

    http://pvewood.blogspot.ro/2012/08/ethiopia-and-zanzibar-diary.htm

    Please ‘follow’ my blog.

    • Paul, thank you for your comment. I only blog in English when i travel, i dont know why it feels that way. The rest of the time I write in Romanian ;-).
      I do follow your blog, I receive the entire text in my inbox. Your blog is cool and fun and i learn a lot. And I laugh a lot :-))

Lasă un răspuns

